Student Regents

Aundrea DeGravina

Hometown: Gilbert

Business Phone: 602-229-2514

Student Regent Aundrea DeGravina was appointed to the Arizona Board of Regents by Gov. Doug Ducey and began her term July 1, 2017. Regent DeGravina is the voting student regent on the board and serves as assistant treasurer. She is a member of the Finance, Capital and Resources Committee, Academic Affairs and Educational Attainment Committee and the Regents Executive Committee. She recently completed her bachelor's degree at Arizona State University as a Barrett, the Honors College student with a double major in psychological sciences and political science. Regent DeGravina is continuing her education as a graduate student at the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at ASU.

Regent DeGravina’s experience includes serving as an intern for The Madison Group in Washington, D.C., legislative intern in Gov. Ducey’s office, intern for Sen. John McCain’s 2016 U.S. Senate campaign and appropriations committee chair for the ASU Undergraduate Student Government. She is the founder of Barrett Women’s League, a women’s networking organization within the college that connects current students with alumni and faculty. Regent DeGravina’s first year on the board will be served as a non-voting member.

Lauren L’Ecuyer

Hometown: Gilbert

Business Phone: 602-229-2514

Student Regent Lauren L’Ecuyer was appointed to the Arizona Board of Regents by Gov. Doug Ducey and began her term July 1, 2018. She is a member of the Audit Committee and Research and Health Sciences Committee. Regent L’Ecuyer recently finished her bachelor’s degree at Northern Arizona University with a dual major in political science and hotel and restaurant management. She is continuing her education as a juris doctor student at the James E. Rogers College of Law at the University of Arizona.

Regent L’Ecuyer’s experience includes serving as the student body president for the Associated Students of NAU as well as vice president of academic affairs and senator for the student government organization. She worked on behalf of Sen. John McCain on two separate occasions, as a communications and events intern for the McCain Institute for International Leadership and as the head fieldwork intern for the senator’s campaign in 2016. She has volunteered for numerous organizations, including as a camp coordinator for Camp Kesem and as a peer educator at NAU.

Selection of the Student Regent

  • The Student Regent is chosen through a rigorous process that begins with candidates applying to the Board of Associated Students of Arizona.
  • The student Board forwards three final candidates to the local student government on campus where the nominees are confirmed and forwarded to the Governor's office.
  • The Governor conducts interviews and nominates one student for the position.
  • The Governor's nominee must be confirmed by the Arizona Senate.


  • A student was first added to the Board in a non-voting position in 1978.
  • The Student Regent was granted voting privileges during the 1989-90 term.
  • A statute passed by the 44th Legislature (2000) added a second, non-voting student member to the Arizona Board of Regents.
  • Student Regents are now appointed for two years; the first year is served as a non-voting member and the second year as the voting Student Regent.

Student Regent History

Full NameUniversityReplacedYear BeginYear End
Lauren L’EcuyerNAU20182020
Aundrea DeGravinaASUJared Gorshe20172019
Vianney CareagaUAMark Naufel20162018
Jared GorsheNAUValerie Hanna20152017
Mark NaufelASUKaitlin Thompson20142016
Valerie HannaUATyler Bowyer20132015
Kaitlin ThompsonNAUWilliam R. Holmes20122014
Tyler BowyerASUJennifer Ginther20112013
William HolmesUARoss Meyer20102012
Jennifer GintherNAUDavid Martinez III20092011
Ross MeyerASU20082010
David Martinez IIIUAEdward Hermes20072009
Mary VeneziaNAUBenjamin Graff20062008
Kolby GranvilleASUWes McCalley20052005
Edward HermesASUKolby Granville20052007
Benjamin GraffUADanelle Peterson-Kelling20042006
Wes McCalleyNAUMatthew Meaker20032005
Danelle Peterson-KellingASUMyrina Robinson20022004
Myrina RobinsonNAUMary Echeverria20012002
Matthew MeakerUA20012003
Mary EcheverriaASUChristine Thompson20002001
Christine ThompsonUAJennifer Reichelt19992000
Jennifer ReicheltNAUJohn Platt19981999
John PlattASUJonathan Schmitt19971998
Jonathan SchmittUAMark Davis19961997
Mark DavisNAUDavid Tung19951996
David TungASUSpencer Insolia19941995
Spencer InsoliaUARhian Evans19931994
Rhian EvansNAUAbedon Fimbres19921993
Abedon FimbresASUDanny Siciliano19911992
Danny SicilianoUAPeggy Steffens19901991
Peggy SteffensNAUPatrick McWhortor19891990
Patrick McWhortorASUJoseph Mikitish19881989
Joseph MikitishUAFelicia Morelos née Martinez19871988
Felicia MartinezNAUNora Ann Gerges née Colton19861987
Nora Ann Gerges née ColtonASUPaul Julien19851986
Paul JulienUAKathleen Couey née Clark19841985
Kathleen ClarkNAUVada Manager19831984
Vada ManagerASU19821983
Shannon MartyUARenee Marler19811982
Renee MarlerNAUJoel Stiner19801981
Joel StinerASUAndrew Federhar19791980
Andrew FederharUA19781979