Regents' Cup

A celebration of free speech, civil discourse and democratic engagement at Arizona’s public universities, the annual Regents’ Cup engages students in rigorous debate anchored by respect and civil discourse. The Regents’ Cup provides an opportunity for students to compete through debate and public speaking for scholarships and course credit in an engaging competition showcasing the commitment of the universities to upholding the intrinsic rights of all students to liberty and freedom of speech.

Debate at public universities is a historic tradition that fosters leadership in students and rewards academic skills of questioning, sound argument and confident speaking. The Regents’ Cup competition is designed for students from all of Arizona’s public universities to engage in rigorous debate and public speaking.

Team members participate in either Oxford debate or persuasive storytelling rounds, sharing true stories from personal experiences. Participants adhere to a standard code of conduct, as defined by national benchmark standards. Judges score teams and declare first, second and third-place teams. Each team receives a portion of a scholarship purse.

The 2022 Regents' Cup will be held on April 30, 2022. Northern Arizona University is the host university this year. This tri-university competition features student team members engaging in debate and speech events that honor participants for articulating different points of view in an environment where competitors remain civil and respectful.

Top-placing individuals and advancing teams are awarded a scholarship to apply toward the advancement of their education. Students selected to take part in the Regents’ Cup may be eligible to receive either internship or course credit for their work.

2021 Winning University:

Arizona State University

2021 Oxford Debate Winners:

First place – ASU: Abigail Spencer, Langston Tillman
Second place – UArizona: Akash Satpathy, Joshua Tashoff
Third place – ASU: Jake Dean, Zane Encinas
Third place – UArizona: Nyah Fyfe, Marnie Gyorffy

2021 Storytelling Winners:

First place – UArizona: Daniel Gyorffy
Second place – NAU: Riley Smelkinson
Third place – NAU: Marjorie Nguyen

2019 Winning University:

Arizona State University

2019 Winners:

First place – ASU: Valielza O’Keefe and Joshua Pardhe
Second place – UArizona: Vincent Jasso and Finley Dutton-Reid
Third place – ASU: Jessica Carter and Logan Guthrie
Third place – UArizona: Nyah Fyfe and Marnie Gyorffy.

Sponsors may showcase their support for Arizona’s public universities and free speech through Platinum, Gold, Silver and Bronze sponsorship opportunities. Sponsor benefits include an invitation to the Regents’ Cup reception following the event competition, prominent logo display, brand recognition through social media promotion and news releases, and recognition on the event’s invitation.

To find out more about sponsorships, call 602-229-2542.

Judges are integral to the success of the Regents’ Cup. Judges for the event include leading figures from government, industry and academia. Information for the 2022 Regents’ Cup will be forthcoming soon.


  • Full-time students (first-year through graduate students) at one of Arizona’s public universities at the time of the Regents’ Cup
  • 2.5 or higher cumulative GPA
  • Application and essay submitted to Arizona Board of Regents’ website
  • Meet university expectations for preparation and participation
  • Participate in the 2022 Regents' Cup on April 30, 2022.

Arizona Board of Regents

2700 N. Central Avenue, Suite 400
Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Mya Trivison: | (602) 229-2528